Tag: law

  • California Law Review – you MUST have seen all of this | Jordan Shields, Partner

    March 17, 2020

    Tags: ,

    Minimum Wage:  $12 (under 25 employees) or $13 in California.  But beware that many municipalities have filed their own (notably Petaluma, Santa Rosa, Berkeley, Emeryville, Oakland, Richmond, San Jose and San Francisco), which are higher or accord workers greater rights (usually surrounding health insurance).  Note, too, how to count telecommuting and thresholds for commissioned salespeople.

    Santa Rosa     $14 or $15 as of July 1, 2020

    Petaluma         $14 or $15 as of January 1 and raising one dollar January 1, 2021

    Sonoma          $14 or $15 on January 1, 2021

    Overtime for Agricultural Workers – with splits for under 25 and 25 or more employees

    Lactation – all California employers must meet minimum guidelines for providing a safe and secure place for mothers lactating.  Employers with less than 50 employees may request an exemption.  There are also rules against discharging employees with these rights.

    Harassment Training – now applies to all companies with at least five employees

    Independent Contractors – this is a big one, and complicated – but basically institutes rules regarding who is an independent contractor in California.  Fair warning – almost no one is.

     

  • California Law Review – you MUST have seen all of this | Jordan Shields, Partner

    March 17, 2020

    Tags: ,

    Minimum Wage:  $12 (under 25 employees) or $13 in California.  But beware that many municipalities have filed their own (notably Petaluma, Santa Rosa, Berkeley, Emeryville, Oakland, Richmond, San Jose and San Francisco), which are higher or accord workers greater rights (usually surrounding health insurance).  Note, too, how to count telecommuting and thresholds for commissioned salespeople.

    Santa Rosa     $14 or $15 as of July 1, 2020

    Petaluma         $14 or $15 as of January 1 and raising one dollar January 1, 2021

    Sonoma          $14 or $15 on January 1, 2021

    Overtime for Agricultural Workers – with splits for under 25 and 25 or more employees

    Lactation – all California employers must meet minimum guidelines for providing a safe and secure place for mothers lactating.  Employers with less than 50 employees may request an exemption.  There are also rules against discharging employees with these rights.

    Harassment Training – now applies to all companies with at least five employees

    Independent Contractors – this is a big one, and complicated – but basically institutes rules regarding who is an independent contractor in California.  Fair warning – almost no one is.

     

Español »